Mentorship with the Blandford School

What would you say to having part of a school week be focused on learning experiences that can’t end up in a folder to be put away? The reason students are doing their schoolwork isn’t just for a grade or for it to eventually become recycled.  Rather their work is something they experience first-hand: What’s life like as professional? How can I create on my own, or with others? How does what I am doing have real value in the real world?

Print

Through the mentorship time I am learning more about the animals. Through the mentorship time I am learning more about the animals. I have been attracted to learning more about the flying squirrel. I had never seen it out before so I didn’t know what it looked like.  One day as I was helping out, cleaning the cages,I saw him sitting out in a little plastic bowl in his café and I thought he was so cute! I would like to do more research on flying squirrels because I have become very interested in them.

Overall, I love Blandford School  and the Blandford Nature Center.  They are a huge part of my life.  If I could do everything so far all over again, I would.”

flying-squirrel

Related: Growing Up in These Woods

We will be sharing more about this program throughout the year.  Blandford Nature Center offers a host of opportunities to give our community’s students authentic work that adds to the abundance of ways that they can make the world a better, richer place starting right now.

Related: Former BEEP Now Teacher

Save

Save

Save

Save

4 thoughts on “Mentorship with the Blandford School

  1. Pingback: 11 Michigan Maple Facts | Blandford Nature Center

  2. Pingback: In the words of the BEEPS… | Blandford Farm

  3. Pingback: The Wild Classroom | Blandford Nature Center

  4. Pingback: Rabbit Scat and Cocoa Puffs | Blandford Nature Center

Leave a Reply

